Peppermint | Linux OS Community Forum

It is currently Wed Feb 26, 2020 9:49 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 Post subject: Aero Snap Like Winows 7
PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2010 7:53 pm 

First of all, this is my first post joining this community. I am brand new to peppermint, though have been an exclusive Ubuntu user for years (started back around 4.10). This is the *FIRST* distro that has caused me to use it instead of Ubuntu for daily use. Congratulations to the peppermint team!

One feature that I've come to love in Ubuntu is the compiz setup that basically mimics the Windows 7 Aero Snap feature. A significant reason for choosing peppermint is to have a lightweight OS to leave system resources for applications. I would like to avoid setting up compiz.

Is there a way to have this feature in Peppermint Ice (OpenBox)?

Post subject: Re: Aero Snap Like Winows 7
PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 3:19 am 

I'm not that familiar with Windows 7, is this what you're talking about? http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/wind ... tures/snap

I didn't even know GNOME could do that. I know KDE can do it, I found it by accident. ;) Unfortunately, you probably need some kind of desktop effects enabled to make that happen, which means installing Compiz or something similar. However, Compiz setup for Peppermint is very easy, I have it installed and auto enabled in my Peppermint install.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 4:49 pm 

Aero Snap allows you to automatically move & resize a window to fill half a screen, on either the left or the right side, so that you may have two windows perfectly positioned side by side. This is really useful when doing a writing project, to view notes while typing, or to simply have a video on part of the screen while working on the other.