Peppermint | Linux OS Community Forum
https://peppermintos.net/

Using Chrome's PepperFlash flashplayer in Chromium
https://peppermintos.net/viewtopic.php?f=42&t=6176
Page 1 of 1

Author:  PCNetSpec [ Fri Oct 11, 2013 9:58 am ]
Post subject:  Using Chrome's PepperFlash flashplayer in Chromium

Adobe's flashplayer (11.2) seems to be giving a LOT of people issues .. one solution would be to switch to using Chrome which has it's own built in flashplayer called "pepper", but then any SSB shortcuts created with Ice would still open in Chromium instead of Chrome.

So the solution is to get Chromium to use the Chrome PepperFlash flashplayer.

Upside - It will likely fix any issues you're having with the Adobe flashplayer, and it's more recent.

Downside - any Update to Chromium that comes through the default repo's will likely break the fix, and require you to make a single edit to fix (more about that later).

See below for instructions for 32 bit and 64bit versions of Peppermint.

Author:  PCNetSpec [ Fri Oct 11, 2013 10:01 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Using Chrome's PepperFlash flashplayer in Chromium

These instructions are for 32bit Peppermint ONLY

OK, we're going to make Chromium use Chrome's "pepper" flashplayer (13.0.0.206) instead of the Adobe one.

Change directory to /opt:
Code:
cd /opt


download the PepperFlash32.tar.gz from my dropbox:
Code:
sudo wget https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/11876059/PepperFlash32.tar.gz


unpack it:
Code:
sudo tar -xvf PepperFlash32.tar.gz


Open /etc/chromium-browser/default for editing:
Code:
sudo gedit /etc/chromium-browser/default


and change the last line from:-
Code:
CHROMIUM_FLAGS=""


to:-
Code:
CHROMIUM_FLAGS="--ppapi-flash-path=/opt/google/chromium/PepperFlash/libpepflashplayer.so --ppapi-flash-version=13.0.0.206"

(that's all one line, so probably best to copy/paste)

SAVE the file.

Close ALL running instances of Chromium <-- this is important

Now reopen Chromium and test flash.

=======================================================

If you ever receive a chromium-browser update, it will overwrite the:-

/etc/chromium-browser/default

file, so you'll need to re-edit it again.

It won't hurt anything .. chromium will just go back to using the Adobe flashplayer until you re-edit the file again.

BTW, you can check which version of flash chromium is using by going to:
chrome://plugins
in Chromium

Author:  PCNetSpec [ Fri Oct 11, 2013 10:02 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Using Chrome's PepperFlash flashplayer in Chromium

These instructions are for 64bit Peppermint ONLY

OK, we're going to make Chromium use Chrome's "pepper" flashplayer (13.0.0.206) instead of the Adobe one.

Change directory to /opt:
Code:
cd /opt


download the PepperFlash64.tar.gz from my dropbox:
Code:
sudo wget https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/11876059/PepperFlash64.tar.gz


unpack it:
Code:
sudo tar -xvf PepperFlash64.tar.gz


Open /etc/chromium-browser/default for editing:
Code:
sudo gedit /etc/chromium-browser/default


and change the last line from:-
Code:
CHROMIUM_FLAGS=""


to:-
Code:
CHROMIUM_FLAGS="--ppapi-flash-path=/opt/google/chromium/PepperFlash/libpepflashplayer.so --ppapi-flash-version=13.0.0.206"

(that's all one line, so probably best to copy/paste)

SAVE the file.

Close ALL running instances of Chromium <-- this is important

Now reopen Chromium and test flash.

=======================================================

If you ever receive a chromium-browser update, it will overwrite the:-

/etc/chromium-browser/default

file, so you'll need to re-edit it again.

It won't hurt anything .. chromium will just go back to using the Adobe flashplayer until you re-edit the file again.

BTW, you can check which version of flash chromium is using by going to:
chrome://plugins
in Chromium

Author:  PCNetSpec [ Fri Oct 11, 2013 10:05 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Using Chrome's PepperFlash flashplayer in Chromium

If at any stage you want to use the Adobe flashplayer instead of the PepperFlash one....

You have 2 options:-

1) disable the PepperFlash plugin in Chromium .. Chromium will switch to using the Adobe one (if it's installed)

or

2) remove the edit you made to

/etc/chromium-browser/default

SAVE the file .. and restart Chromium.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/