Peppermint | Linux OS Community Forum
 
It is currently Sat Aug 24, 2019 7:56 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: telinit not working
PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 3:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 3:00 pm
Posts: 18
Actually telinit IS working, it's just that runlevel 3 is still X and I need it not to be so I can install the Nvidia driver.
I tried the Nvidia driver from software manager and it's not working so now I just want to drop into oldschool and run the shell file.
Anybody have a suggestion? "sudo telinit 1" hangs at a black screen.
Thanks in advance, Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 

 Post subject: Re: telinit not working
PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 4:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 3:00 pm
Posts: 18
How about somewhere I can access a file like inittab? Nothing here.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: telinit not working
PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 1:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 12:15 am
Posts: 940
Location: Lake Gaston NC
run in terminal...
Code:
sudo service lightdm stop

enter password when prompted & press enter which will take you to a blank screen

then, Ctrl + Alt + F6 will take you to tty6 where you log in without X (init 3)

When finished do....
Code:
sudo service lightdm start

-- OR --
Code:
sudo reboot

_________________
Peppermint: Standing Out from the Cloud
Reg. Linux User #432835
http://peppermintos.com/guide/
viewforum.php?f=5
viewforum.php?f=44


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: telinit not working
PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 8:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:25 pm
Posts: 5521
Location: Cornwall, England
mac is (of course) absolutely correct, you'll not be able to enter runlevel 1 or 3 with X running, and to stop X you'll need to run:
Code:
sudo service lightdm stop

from a console .. THEN "sudo telinit 1" will work.

I suppose theoretically you could add a script to kill lightdm in /etc/rc1.d and /etc/rc3.d .. but I've never tried, easier to just do it from a console or boot directly into the runlevel you want.

_________________
Please be sure to sign up to the new Peppermint forum and post any new question there .. this forum will be made read-only on the 1st April 2014

You can read the announcement here:
http://peppermintos.net/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=6608
Or here's a direct link to the new forum:
http://forum.peppermintos.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by php B.B. © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 php B.B. Group
Template made by DEVPPL