Peppermint | Linux OS Community Forum
 
It is currently Tue Aug 20, 2019 12:19 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: No sound on Toshiba Equium - SOLVED
PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2013 2:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 4:19 pm
Posts: 34
I'm trying to re-purpose an old laptop for a friend to use, but am struggling to get sound to work. (Wireless also doesn't work but can live without this and use a LAN connection).

I've tried lots of different live CDs just to see if I can get any sound and so far with no luck. Peppermint 3 is installed and running nicely but for the sound and wireless.

Google has not been very productive so far for me but maybe I'm searching for using the wrong terminology.

Below is part of lshw:
(hopefully the right bits)

Any help would be great.
---------------------------------------------------
equium-a60
description: Portable Computer
version: PSA67E-00300C8J
width: 32 bits
capabilities: smbios-2.3 dmi-2.3
configuration: administrator_password=disabled boot=normal chassis=portable power-on_password=disabled uuid=088F7790-23D0-11D9-A70E-00A0D1B5CC48
*-core
description: Motherboard
product: Portable PC
vendor: TOSHIBA
physical id: 0
version: Version A0
serial: 0000000000
*-firmware
description: BIOS
vendor: TOSHIBA
physical id: 0
version: Version 1.8C
date: 01/12/2005
size: 84KiB
capacity: 448KiB
capabilities: isa pci pcmcia pnp upgrade shadowing cdboot socketedrom pcmciaboot edd int13floppynec int13floppy720 int13floppy2880 int5printscreen int9keyboard int14serial int17printer int10video acpi agp zipboot smartbattery netboot
*-cpu
description: CPU
product: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz
vendor: Intel Corp.
physical id: 4
bus info: cpu@0
version: 15.3.4
serial: 0000-0F34-0000-0000-0000-0000
slot: mFCPGA
size: 2800MHz
capacity: 3200MHz
width: 32 bits
clock: 133MHz
capabilities: fpu fpu_exception wp vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe constant_tsc up pebs bts pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl cid xtpr
configuration: id=0

*-multimedia
description: Multimedia audio controller
product: IXP150 AC'97 Audio Controller
vendor: Hynix Semiconductor (Hyundai Electronics)
physical id: 14.5
bus info: pci@0000:00:14.5
version: 00
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: bus_master
configuration: driver=snd_atiixp latency=64 mingnt=2
resources: irq:17 memory:f0000400-f00004ff

*-network
description: Wireless interface
physical id: 3
bus info: usb@1:3
logical name: wlan0
serial: 00:0e:2e:c8:25:69
capabilities: ethernet physical wireless
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=rt73usb driverversion=3.2.0-23-generic firmware=1.7 ip=192.168.0.5 link=yes multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11bg


Last edited by madwoollything on Thu Oct 31, 2013 5:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 

 Post subject: Re: No sound on Toshiba Equium
PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2013 3:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 12:15 am
Posts: 940
Location: Lake Gaston NC
Try...
Code:
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade

Then...
Code:
sudo apt-get install pulseaudio pulseaudio-utils pavucontrol

Then...reboot & test sound

Then post the result of...
Code:
inxi -F


and...
Code:
lspci -vnn | grep -i net


NOTE: Use pastebin.com when posting lengthy output

_________________
Peppermint: Standing Out from the Cloud
Reg. Linux User #432835
http://peppermintos.com/guide/
viewforum.php?f=5
viewforum.php?f=44


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: No sound on Toshiba Equium
PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 5:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 4:19 pm
Posts: 34
mac wrote:
Try...
Code:
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade

Then...
Code:
sudo apt-get install pulseaudio pulseaudio-utils pavucontrol

Then...reboot & test sound


Many thanks ...... this worked a treat.
Must have been a problem with pulseaudio in the original installation.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: No sound on Toshiba Equium - SOLVED
PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 5:53 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 12:15 am
Posts: 940
Location: Lake Gaston NC
You're welcome. :D Glad it is working for you.
Pulseaudio doesn't install by default but is, as you know, in the repositories.
I take it you've solved your wifi issue(s) then?

Thanks for marking it solved. 8-)

_________________
Peppermint: Standing Out from the Cloud
Reg. Linux User #432835
http://peppermintos.com/guide/
viewforum.php?f=5
viewforum.php?f=44


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by php B.B. © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 php B.B. Group
Template made by DEVPPL