Peppermint | Linux OS Community Forum
 
It is currently Wed Oct 16, 2019 3:25 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: [SOLVED] RAM Switcheroo
PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2013 6:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 1:47 pm
Posts: 116
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Hi,

I had a Toshiba Satellite C650D-ST5N01 for which I purchased 8GB of RAM. The Toshiba died from a non-RAM related issue, so I am left with a couple of brand new RAM sticks. Now...

I have an Asus UL80jt which can upgrade to 8GB of RAM. Can I use the same RAM which was intended for the Toshiba in the Asus? Upon visual inspection they look identical (except one is green and the other is blue). I looked them both up on Crucial.com and they seem to be the same. Any input? What would happen if I put the wrong RAM in the Asus?

Thanks in advance.


Last edited by cessanfrancisco on Sat Oct 26, 2013 8:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 

 Post subject: Re: RAM Switcheroo
PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2013 6:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:25 pm
Posts: 5521
Location: Cornwall, England
is anything written on them, such as

PC3-10600

or

DDR3-1333

?

=======================================================

[EDIT]

According to this:
http://www.crucial.com/uk/upgrade/Toshi ... rades.html
and
http://www.crucial.com/uk/upgrade/ASUS- ... rades.html

they both use PC3-10600 (DDR3-1333) Unbuffered NON-ECC SODIMM's .. so they should be interchangeable.
(bare in mind, matched pairs are better .. so swap them both)

But it would be nice to SEE either "PC3-10600" or "DDR3-1333" written on both sets
(or at least them both being PC3/DDR3 .. and the RAM from the toshiba being slightly higher rated)

_________________
Please be sure to sign up to the new Peppermint forum and post any new question there .. this forum will be made read-only on the 1st April 2014

You can read the announcement here:
http://peppermintos.net/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=6608
Or here's a direct link to the new forum:
http://forum.peppermintos.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RAM Switcheroo
PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2013 6:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 1:47 pm
Posts: 116
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
On the Asus RAM it says:

DDRIII 2GB-1333
SSZ3128M8-EDJED

On the Toshiba it says:

4GB 2Rx8 PC3-10600S-9-12-F3
HMT351S6FR8C-H9 N0 AA 1328

I was going to post pics but I can't figure out how to do that.

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RAM Switcheroo
PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2013 8:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:25 pm
Posts: 5521
Location: Cornwall, England
yup, DDR3-1333 and PC3-10600 is the same stuff :)
(quite why they have 2 ways of saying the same thing is beyond me :roll:)

go ahead and swap them out.

_________________
Please be sure to sign up to the new Peppermint forum and post any new question there .. this forum will be made read-only on the 1st April 2014

You can read the announcement here:
http://peppermintos.net/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=6608
Or here's a direct link to the new forum:
http://forum.peppermintos.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RAM Switcheroo
PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2013 8:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 1:47 pm
Posts: 116
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Great!

Thanks so much!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by php B.B. © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 php B.B. Group
Template made by DEVPPL