Peppermint | Linux OS Community Forum
 
It is currently Fri Sep 20, 2019 8:24 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Networking Server 08 and Peppermint
PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2014 9:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2013 7:10 pm
Posts: 61
Location: Minnesota, USA
Quote:
Browse to the share (or click your bookmark) .. now what's in the file manager address bar ?

smb://192.168.0.10/Y

Does not request authentication to connect, I can see all contents of the drive, but if I double click a .docx and try to open with Libre writer, nothing happens. If I copy the file to my desktop and then open it, it works fine.?


Top
 Profile  
 
 

 Post subject: Re: Networking Server 08 and Peppermint
PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 8:24 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:25 pm
Posts: 5521
Location: Cornwall, England
is 192.168.0.10 a static IP address ?

_________________
Please be sure to sign up to the new Peppermint forum and post any new question there .. this forum will be made read-only on the 1st April 2014

You can read the announcement here:
http://peppermintos.net/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=6608
Or here's a direct link to the new forum:
http://forum.peppermintos.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Networking Server 08 and Peppermint
PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 9:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2013 7:10 pm
Posts: 61
Location: Minnesota, USA
No, it's not static, although it is a wired desktop and as such is not likely to change. I'm not opposed to making it static if it needs to be.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Networking Server 08 and Peppermint
PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:59 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:25 pm
Posts: 5521
Location: Cornwall, England
I "much" prefer having all my internal addresses static .. it makes for a more robust network, as fstab entries can use the IP address rather than the hostname .. it means the internal network may not fail if nameservice lookups fail.

But that's just my preference ;)

We can do it by hostname if you'd like .. do you know the hostname ?

[hr]

Is this all about xlsx files .. because IIRC I had problems opening certain files on a remote share (NAS in my case) until I updated pcmanfm/libfm.
I've got the updated versions in my PPA if you wanna give em a shot ?

We may end up having to do this ANYWAY .. even if we automount the share via fstab

_________________
Please be sure to sign up to the new Peppermint forum and post any new question there .. this forum will be made read-only on the 1st April 2014

You can read the announcement here:
http://peppermintos.net/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=6608
Or here's a direct link to the new forum:
http://forum.peppermintos.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Networking Server 08 and Peppermint
PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2013 7:10 pm
Posts: 61
Location: Minnesota, USA
I can make it static; 192.168.0.10 and go from there.

I haven't tried to open any .xlsx files yet. It will be mostly .doc/x and .jpeg's AFIK.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Networking Server 08 and Peppermint
PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 1:06 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:25 pm
Posts: 5521
Location: Cornwall, England
Couple of things to remember

a) If setting static IP's you'll need to adjust the DHCP pool in your router so the static IP's are never handed out to other devices.

b) 192.168.0.10 is a bit low (unless you change the lower address in the DHCP pool range)

think of it like this....

You want to still have the routers DHCP server running, and handing out addresses for the "occasionally connected" devices, and mobile laptops/phones/tablets etc.
But you need to make sure the DHCP serrver never hands out the IP addresses you're going to statically assign.
So best to change the routers DHCP address pool) to 192.168.0.2 --> 192.168.0.200

that will allow you 192.168.0.201 --> 192.168.0.254 that vcan be used for static IP's with zreo chance the router will ever assign them dynamically.

then make the Windows PC (static) 192.168.0.201

make sense ?

======================================================

I meant all types of files not just xlsx .. do you want to try the updated verssion of pcmanfm/libfm FIRST is what I'm asking
?

_________________
Please be sure to sign up to the new Peppermint forum and post any new question there .. this forum will be made read-only on the 1st April 2014

You can read the announcement here:
http://peppermintos.net/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=6608
Or here's a direct link to the new forum:
http://forum.peppermintos.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Networking Server 08 and Peppermint
PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2013 7:10 pm
Posts: 61
Location: Minnesota, USA
Quote:
I meant all types of files not just xlsx .. do you want to try the updated verssion of pcmanfm/libfm FIRST is what I'm asking ?


All files seem to be the same.
I assume the update is for PM4, if so, let's give it a whirl.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Networking Server 08 and Peppermint
PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:25 pm
Posts: 5521
Location: Cornwall, England
OK, run:
Code:
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:mark-pcnetspec/pcmanfm-testing

then
Code:
sudo apt-get update

then
Code:
sudo apt-get upgrade

then
Code:
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

then REBOOT and test if you can open files on the share now ?

_________________
Please be sure to sign up to the new Peppermint forum and post any new question there .. this forum will be made read-only on the 1st April 2014

You can read the announcement here:
http://peppermintos.net/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=6608
Or here's a direct link to the new forum:
http://forum.peppermintos.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Networking Server 08 and Peppermint
PostPosted: Wed Feb 26, 2014 11:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2013 7:10 pm
Posts: 61
Location: Minnesota, USA
I can open pdf's but libre office files fail. The Libre office splash comes up and then goes away. :?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by php B.B. © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 php B.B. Group
Template made by DEVPPL