Peppermint | Linux OS Community Forum
 
It is currently Sun Jun 24, 2018 10:30 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: [Solved] Bring Window List Item Into Another Workspace
PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2014 2:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 3:14 pm
Posts: 21
Hello again!

I've been setting up peppermint all night, and I'm about halfway done. A consistent question I've been having though, is bringing a window into another workspace.

I have tried using all the different shortcuts such as ctrl+alt+end, ctrl+alt+home, but this does not accomplish what I need! I'd like to free up my Taskbar as well as my workspace.

Just so that I am perfectly clear, what I want to happen is to shift a running app to workspace 2, but when I shift back to workspace 1, there is NO sign of the window. I will have to switch back to WS2 to see the window and the task at the bottom of my screen.

Is there a way to accomplish this?


Last edited by Zenmode on Thu Feb 20, 2014 3:51 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 

 Post subject: Re: How To Bring TASKBAR As Well As The Window Into A Worksp
PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2014 3:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:25 pm
Posts: 5521
Location: Cornwall, England
Are:-
Ctrl+Alt+Home
and
Ctrl+Alt+End
what you're after ?

_________________
Please be sure to sign up to the new Peppermint forum and post any new question there .. this forum will be made read-only on the 1st April 2014

You can read the announcement here:
http://peppermintos.net/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=6608
Or here's a direct link to the new forum:
http://forum.peppermintos.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How To Bring TASKBAR As Well As The Window Into A Worksp
PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2014 3:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 3:14 pm
Posts: 21
Again, I have tried those two.

Since I'm having trouble posting a screenshot, I'll try to explain it better.

Gedit, Terminator, and Chromium are all open in WS1. Chromium is in focus. I CTRL+ALT+HOME to move Chromium to WS2. It moves to WS2.

Now, I am also in WS2. Only Chromium and I are in WS2. BUT, on the taskbar (with the clock and everything, where you select which programs to focus), nothing has changed EXCEPT for my Chromium icon moving to the second WS.

What I want to happen is that when I tab a window to WS2, it leaves the taskbar of WS1, so that when I switch to it, I have a bit more room down there. Instead, the taskbar never changes. It says "Gedit - Terminator - Chromium". CTRL+ALT+HOME Chromium to WS2. Taskbar doesn't change. Still says "Gedit - Terminator - Chromium".

Something that may have something to do with this is this:

Earlier this morning I was experimenting with OpenBox and Cairo-Dock. It was a bit over my head as a new linux user, so I gave up, but not before I accidentally screwed over my whole lxpanel.

I uninstalled both OpenBox and Cairo-Dock, and tried to get lxpanel how it was before. I used this LXDE thread to reset the settings to what they were. It was still not the same. I lost my nice little peppermint menu icon to the default monitor one. Easily fixed with a new icon, but this tells me that things are not the same as they were before.

One more thing that may be related. I can't drag my apps to rearrange them in the taskbar. It's totally locked up. I feel as though I've been through every setting to fix this as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How To Bring TASKBAR As Well As The Window Into A Worksp
PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2014 4:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:25 pm
Posts: 5521
Location: Cornwall, England
OK, not 100% sure what you're trying to say here

Are you saying when you move a window to workspace 2, it's corresponding window list item stays on the panle in workspace 1 ?

=========================================================

Resetting the bottom panel to defaults...

Open a terminal and run:
Code:
cp -v /usr/share/lxpanel/profile/Peppermint/panels/panel ~/.config/lxpanel/Peppermint/panels/panel

then
Code:
lxpanelctl restart

_________________
Please be sure to sign up to the new Peppermint forum and post any new question there .. this forum will be made read-only on the 1st April 2014

You can read the announcement here:
http://peppermintos.net/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=6608
Or here's a direct link to the new forum:
http://forum.peppermintos.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How To Bring TASKBAR As Well As The Window Into A Worksp
PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2014 11:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 3:14 pm
Posts: 21
I'm saying that when I move a windows to another workspace, nothing changes on my bottom bar where all my open programs are listed. it stays the same no matter what workspace I switch to. I would like to be able to switch to workspace 2, and ONLY have the programs in workspace 2 on my bottom bar.

I've already tried that, it was the solution in the post that I linked to.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How To Bring TASKBAR As Well As The Window Into A Worksp
PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 12:28 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:25 pm
Posts: 5521
Location: Cornwall, England
Try this...

Right-click the bottom panel, and select

Panel Settings > Panel Applets

hightlight the "Task Bar (Window List)", and click the "Edit" button

Make sure there is NO tick in -

"Show windows from all desktops"

Click "Close" .. Click "Close"

_________________
Please be sure to sign up to the new Peppermint forum and post any new question there .. this forum will be made read-only on the 1st April 2014

You can read the announcement here:
http://peppermintos.net/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=6608
Or here's a direct link to the new forum:
http://forum.peppermintos.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [SOLVED]Bring TASKBAR As Well As The Window Into Workspa
PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 3:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 3:14 pm
Posts: 21
Thanks so much :-)

You are such a big help!

That was exactly the pesky little option I was missing ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [Solved] Bring Window List Item Into Another Workspace
PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:25 pm
Posts: 5521
Location: Cornwall, England
No problem .. thanks for marking the topic solved.

_________________
Please be sure to sign up to the new Peppermint forum and post any new question there .. this forum will be made read-only on the 1st April 2014

You can read the announcement here:
http://peppermintos.net/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=6608
Or here's a direct link to the new forum:
http://forum.peppermintos.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by php B.B. © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 php B.B. Group
Template made by DEVPPL