Peppermint | Linux OS Community Forum

It is currently Tue Sep 30, 2014 5:52 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: BSD
PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 1:08 pm 

I'm am intrigued by BSD, looking to try the live CD of Ghost BSD. Most BSD is KDE which I don't care for, Ghost BSD is Gnome which I am much more comfortable with. It also is a reasonable size at 645mb.

What are Linux users experience with BSD? Do you feel there are any major advantages for desktop use (I understand the server advantages)?

Post subject: Re: BSD
PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 1:30 pm 

I have dabbled with BSD in the past, but at the time I had a rather slow pc, with little memory, and wasn't too impressed with it. I keep telling myself, I am going to give it another go, but I am still learning all I can about Linux, so tackling another #unix type system always holds me back somewhat, but I really should take the leap and see what I can do with BSD. I saw Ghost on Distrowatch, and gave it a thought. Maybe I will join you in having a go at it. ;)

PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 3:16 pm 

I tried one of them a few months ago, I think it was FreeBSD. The installer was killing me, though, and I don't think I ever got it installed correctly or it wouldn't boot or something. To make a long story short, i wound up removing it. I've been thinking of trying Ghost BSD or Dragonfly BSD because both have Live CDs available. Maybe I'll do that later. :)

PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 6:30 pm 
I just realized I posted this in the wrong thread a bit ago. :oops:

Ghost BSD #EPICFAIL it couldn't even configure my network card with a wired connection. Even when I manually entered all the info, no luck. Now I know why I didn't care for BSD.
#notnewbiefriendly

PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 10:24 pm